top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAllan Bett

Karma Law of Significance and Inspiration.

The 13th Century Persian Poet Rumi once said “You are not a drop in the ocean, you are the ocean in a drop.” His sentiments perfectly captures the essence of the Law of Significance and Inspiration. The entire possibility of the world resides within you and everyone is capable of creating from that space. Not only is the world abundant, but each one of us is individually abundant in equal measure. Therefore, it goes without mention that we are powerful, significant and unique. As a result, the uniqueness ought to illuminate the path for others in the same manner that each star lights the sky and paves the way for navigation. In as much as you may not always feel significant, you essentially are and we all have a role to play as well as a contribution to make in the large scheme of things. Moreover, whenever you need a motivational boost you can seek refuge in the law.


The Law of Significance and Inspiration is the spark that sets the engine in motion so to speak. Tap into the law when you need a boost of motivation but be cognizant of the fact that you can only get back what you put forth as stipulated by the law of karma. This is essentially how the two are interconnected since the law of significance and inspiration is a subset law of karma. In as much as motivation is often times crucial, one has to bear in mind the consequences of the chosen course of action. Free will is a double edged sword and even though you are at liberty to seek motivation to indulge in vices, bear in mind that you will reap consequences of like kind. Therefore, an unsolicited brotherly piece of advice from my end is to encourage positive pursuits as much as is humanly possible.


There is a Zulu saying that states “hands wash each other.” This means that our role in this planet is to help build each other. A relationship built over time played a critical role in the hour of need. There is a health institution within our locale which has catered to our needs for a long while. To that end, whenever called upon to do so we have referred several patients to seek services from the same institution. I am a creature of habit and since familiarity builds loyalty, I can drive out of the way to patronize an establishment I am comfortable with. Whereas I am not the talkative type and hardly have much to say, I always greet the hospital staff indiscriminately across all cadres. From the cleaners to the highest ranking members of the institution. I’m least bothered by the sound of crickets chirping after a minute or two of small talk. Ignoring people is tantamount to making them feel insignificant. Therefore, crickets notwithstanding, I’d much rather acknowledge and affirm their significance.


No sooner had I stepped into the household one afternoon than I encountered an emergency situation that had to be dealt with there and then. Wasted no time and rushed the patient to hospital. Swiftly swung the door open, left the car running and made my way to the emergency room. For some reason the car was the least of my worries at that point in time. Luckily enough is that my brother who followed us closely behind, parked the wheels and secured the keys. In the race against time, the hospital availed their ambulance and transferred us to another facility. The parting shot upon arrival there was that we will sort them out later. The patient was admitted for three days and made a quick recovery. I played my part of the deal and upon release from the hospital, I made my way there to settle the outstanding bill. I was glad they gave me some latitude. On their part, they said that the relationship we had built over time triumphed all else. In any case, they understood that we were caught between a rock and a hard place.


All of us in the universe play a part and have something to contribute no matter how small it may seem. A car can barely run without the bolts and nuts. Similarly, the engine is held in place by the very bolt and nuts that seem insignificant. I once attended a work meeting where the big shots were deliberating on an issue. A bottleneck threatened to clog the entire workflow system and they needed a way out. I spent a better part of the time listening and wanted to chip in with my two cents. However, I was held back by a small voice urging me to mind my own business but a louder voice egged me on and when the floor was opened, I grabbed the opportunity albeit reluctantly. My contribution barely lasted a minute but it unlocked the stalemate. I was chimed for having not spoken earlier and my rejoinder was I was taught not to speak in front of elders unless absolutely needed. In any case, he who sees an old hag squatting should leave her alone; who knows how she breathes? Meaning you should never interfere in someone’s issues, particularly when you do not know anything about them. After all was said and done, I was as happy as a lark since I held the golden key and made a widely acceptable favorable contribution that amplified my significance.


When I set foot in the land of opportunity, there were a myriad of issues I had to contend with. Slipping and falling on ice, the food that failed to impress my taste buds at the onset but got better as the time lapsed, sticking out like a sore thumb as a minority in class and the accent issue was the icing on the cake. Every now and then being told to repeat what I said even though I was speaking English to the best of my knowledge. One had the audacity of stating that they do not understand a word that was coming out of my mouth. If left unchecked all this would do a number on you. With time, I learnt to fake the accent. However, no matter how long a log stays in the water, it does not become a crocodile. The law of Significance and Inspiration came to my rescue and boosted my motivation when in the midst of it all other natives remarked as to how much they loved my accent. Whereas I wanted to fit in, most accepted me the way I was. In addition, my strong academic performance boosted my morale was well. With the passage of time, the journey became as easy as falling off a log.

134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page