top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAllan Bett

Karma Law of Patience and Reward.

Julius Caesar once said that it is easier to find men who will volunteer to die, than to find those who are willing to endure pain with patience. In as much as patience is bitter and can potentially inflict pain, its fruit is as sweet as honey. The law of Patience and Reward stipulates that nothing of value is created without a patience mindset. Toiling away cannot be circumvented through wishful thinking. Our rewards are only claimed through patience and persistence, nothing else. Of key significance to note is that contrary to what most believe is that rewards are not necessarily the end result. True, lasting joy comes from the knowledge of doing what’s necessary in the rightful anticipation of a reward that is well earned.


Karma is the force that is induced by a person’s deeds. The law of Patience and Reward is one of the subset laws of Karma. The interconnection between the two can best be explained by the butterfly effect which evokes the idea that a small butterfly flapping its wings could hypothetically cause a typhoon on the other end of the world. A small act has a ripple effect that expands over time with more dramatic results. Similarly, an action committed today that is in line with a long term goal will trigger a reward at some point down the line. Therefore, it is incumbent upon us to exercise patience. As a starting point, one ought to figure out their true purpose. Thereafter, act in accordance with that purpose and derive pleasure from the knowledge that you are doing what you are supposed to be doing. In due course and as sure as an egg is an egg, associated successes both emotional and material will follow.


Several moons ago, I embarked on a self-discovery journey. After toying with the idea for a while, I decided to fast for an extended period of time. In as much as the process was fraught with challenges such as the battle with temptation and the associated health effects, it is during this period that I discovered I had a knack for writing. The opportune moment for fasting presented itself during my annual leave and since I had a lot of time at my disposal, I put pen on paper and shared the experience. I have come a full circle and once again I am fasting as I write this piece. My love affair with writing began at that point. I enjoyed writing and still do. However, I didn’t have an outlet and shared the output with a friend or two.


As per the dictates of the law of patience and reward, initial toil is required. After discovering my passion by happenstance, I made a conscious decision to pursue writing but I barely had an inkling of where to start from. Just as an artist does a portrait, slowly the face took shape and with time I got some footing in place. Words and paragraphs grew to pages. The journey is still ongoing and every now and then I celebrate small wins which count as rewards such as a pat in the back, a compliment here and there from strangers touched by the writing pieces, tokens of appreciation, satisfaction of a time well spent as well as the intense inner joy derived from getting something done with the least effort. Something I am proud of and can lay claim on when called upon to do so.


Challenges are definitely there and countless times I have felt like throwing in the towel. However, if not for posterity, an individual or two might draw meaningful lessons from the writing pieces and be influenced positively hence making the effort worthwhile in the final analysis. Even if the financial reward is still flexing muscles in the next life, there are rewards to be enjoyed along the way. We ought to be cognizant of the fact that the reward is not the end result but when the breakthrough comes, I will definitely share the spoils. As Arnold H. Glasow asserts, the key to everything is patience. You get the chicken by hatching the egg, not by smashing it. Therefore, being impatient is tantamount to smashing the egg and rewards will be hard to come by.


One bright afternoon in the dog days of summer, an older gentleman recounted to me how in his early working career he was passed over for promotion owing to the fact that he hardly wore a tie to work. His stellar performance and strong work ethic notwithstanding, the big honcho who called the shots in the organization felt that he was too young and needed a year or two to come of age. In as much as he was dumbfounded by the idea that a tie sealed his fate, the setback did little to dampen his spirit. In any case, it added fire in his belly. He earned his stripes and within no time the promotion that had evaded him earlier on came knocking at his footstep.


Several more promotions came his way. This was attributed to the fact that he rolled up his sleeves and toiled hard for hours on end. Despite being higher up in the food chain, he was more often than not willing to dig the trenches with the rest of the team and this endeared him with the crowd. Subsequently, he racked up good karma along the way and it was smooth sailing all the way up. Moreover, a tie hardly left his neck. At the tail end of his career when the stars seemed to be aligned in his favor, a small bird whispered in his ear that it was time to pursue other interests besides seeking the top seat. It was widely expected and accepted that he would occupy the corner office as the CEO. However, he bowed out and pursued other equally rewarding endeavors. His story best embodies the fact that rewards of lasting value require patient and persistent toil. This made a lasting impression on me. It is for this reason that I look up to him and even though his shoes seem too big to fit in, my legs will definitely expand.


The law of Patience and Reward is neither limited within the confines of career progression nor wealth creation. It can also be applicable towards matters of the heart. Wooing pursuits can be fraught with challenges. I once had to go through a lion’s den and was subjected to psychological trauma by competitor suitors. After the dust settled, I won the prize and claimed the bragging rights. My worthy opponent tipped his hat and bowed out of the race when it became evident that he was pursuing a lost cause. We almost got into a fist fight one evening and as fate would have it, the school bell rang in the nick of time hence we all scattered in different directions before the first punch came into contact with flesh.


In this scenario, I am conflicted as to whether or not patience worked in my best interest. Holbrook Jackson once said “Patience has its limits, take it too far and its cowardice.” I had put up with the intimidation and blackmail for far too long. For fear of being labelled a coward I was willing to fight that evening even though I was outnumbered. The cards were stacked against me since my opponent counted on the support of the Goliath of our school who was part and parcel of his inner core team. He was a large, intimidating fellow who relished the idea of beating others to a pulp. He was on standby and clenched his fist as he fixed his gaze on me. However, the ringing of the school bell robbed him off his joy as I walked away unscathed, heaving a sigh of relief. I lived to fight another day. In the final analysis though I was glad I got the girl without spilling some blood. The internal trauma dissipated with time as the relationship blossomed.

277 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page